– 2011 IPC Leadership & Acheivement …

IPC Presents Professional Photographer Leadership Awards,
Lifetime Achievement Award at 13th Annual UN Luncheon

NEW YORK, NEW YORK, May 15, 2011 –

The International Photographic Council (IPC), a non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations, presented six IPC Professional Photographer Leadership Awards and its first Lifetime Achievement Award in Pro Photography during the 13th annual IPC Awards Luncheon, held at the United Nations in New York City on May 5. IPC board member and vice president Kathy Schneider-Jello served as luncheon chair.

Keynote speaker Andy Marcus, president of Fred Marcus Photography, in New York City, a 2010 IPC Leadership Awards winner, delivered a motivational and personal perspective on “The Life of Professional Photographers.” IPC board member Ted McGrath introduced Marcus. “As wedding photographers, we are so fortunate to be with people during one of the happiest moments of their lives,” said Marcus. “The times are challenging, but I’m very thankful for what we have and optimistic about the future of our industry.”

The Leadership Awards, presented by IPC each May in support of May Professional Photography Month, salute professionals around the globe. This year, six professional photography organizations designated honorees: American Photographic Artists (APA); American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP); Professional Photographers of America (PPA); White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA); Wedding & Portrait Photographers International (WPPI); and for the first time, the Federation of European Photographers (FEP). Each organization selects one member who best represents the group’s criteria and ideals.

The 2011 IPC Professional Photographer Leadership Award recipients are:

Advertising Photographers of America (APA): Don Dormeyer

American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP): Richard Kelly

Federation of European Photographers (FEP): Martin Vrabko

Professional Photographers of America (PPA): Ron Nichols

White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA): Jamie Rose

Wedding and Portrait Photographers International (WPPI): Doug Gordon

In a departure from the traditional format of honorees delivering acceptance speeches highlighted by career lessons learned and gratitude to an industry that shares their passion, honorees were “interviewed” in a talk-show format, responding to questions about their professional inspirations and challenges, use of social media to grow their businesses, favorite equipment and wish-list gear.

The new, interactive format proved popular with attendees and honorees, generating responses that were insightful, instructive, humorous or emotional. While most of the honorees are digital shooters, they expressed an enduring love of film; love human connections and building lasting relationships with clients; bring their very best to each and every assignment; and are discovering creative ways to use social media, blogs, and iPhones to grow their businesses.

Among the items on their wish lists: more effective use of metadata to enable photographers to avoid stock photography agencies and otherwise control their own work; better appreciation of professional photography by the public; and the merging of old style photography mastery with digital technology.

At the luncheon, IPC presented its first Lifetime Achievement Award for Pro Photography to Harold Strawbridge, CEO of Strawbridge Studios, Durham, N.C., and a member of the Professional School Photographers of America (PSPA). Under doctor’s orders not to travel, Harold asked son Ken, company president, to accept the award on his behalf. IPC board member and vice president John Segall praised the elder Strawbridge and introduced his son.

IPC President James Chung presented Distinguished Service Awards to three IPC board members: IPC vice president Alice Miller, president of Plum Communications; Ted McGrath, president and CEO, The McGrath Group; and IPC vice president John Segall, of Lifetouch, Inc., for their support of IPC.

On behalf of IPC, Chung expressed gratitude to luncheon sponsors (Platinum level): AsukaBook USA & Kubota Image Tools, B&H Photo/B&H Marketing, Cygnus Business Media, International Supplies; (Gold level) ASMP, Canon U.S.A. Inc, CPQ Professional Imaging, CSJ Sales & Marketing Inc., Leather Craftsmen Inc., Lifetouch, Inc., onOne Software; and (Silver level): Adorama, Animoto Pro, Leica Camera USA, NextoDI, SmugMug Inc., and White House Custom Colour (WHCC).

The International Photographic Council (IPC) is a multinational, non-profit, non-commercial organization—and a non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations—composed of representatives from every major sector of the photographic industry. Founded in 1974, the IPC is dedicated to increasing worldwide recognition of photography as a universal means of communication through the adoption of the motto “Peace through Understanding, Understanding through Photography, the Universal Language.”

For additional information on IPC, visit www.ipc-un-ngo.org.

2011 IPC Award Recipients

Photo © 2011 Diane Berkenfeld
At the 13th Annual IPC Awards Luncheon, May 5, 2011, held at the United Nations, New York City.
Front row (l to r): Doug Gordon, WPPI honoree; IPC President James Chung; keynote speaker Andy Marcus; luncheon chair Kathy Schneider-Jello. Back row (l to r): Richard Kelly, ASMP honoree; Jamie Rose, WHNPA honoree; Ron Nichols, PPA honoree; Don Dormeyer, APA honoree; and Martin Vrabko, FEP honoree.

Contact: Alice B. Miller; alice@plumcomm.com; 516.582.2265